Main dishes

Zoodles with Tomato Sauce πŸ…πŸ

zoodles-with-tomato-sauce

Yesterday evening my family reunited to celebrate my cousin’s 24th birthday and my grandparents 57th wedding anniversary (they’ve been together for 60 years and they’re still incredibly cute!), so i made this classic recipe for the occasion and let me tell you, this was soΒ tasty that i ate at least half of it before even taking this photo lol i just couldn’t refrain myself because of how delicious this was!Β βœ¨πŸ‘Œ

The ingredients that I used for this recipe are:

  • 4 medium sized zucchini
  • Β½ avocado
  • Β½Β red bell pepper
  • a handful of cherry tomatoes
  • 6-7 sundried tomatoes
  • a few leaves of basil
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast
  • 3Β champignon mushrooms

Spiralize the zucchini, place them in a bowl and put that aside. Put the leftover pieces of zucchini and all the other ingredients into your blender, except for the mushrooms. Blend them up and once the sauce reachesΒ a smooth consistency pour it onto the noodles. Cut up the mushrooms and add them into the mix. Now let’s get our hands dirty for the most fun part: massage the sauce in with your hands (i might have licked the sauce off the fingers after that. πŸ™ˆ) 🐷

This dish will be as delicious to eat as it was easy to prepare! I recommend eating it right away as it tends to release the water of the tomatoes after a while, otherwise, if you have to bring it with you somewhere else like i did yesterday, you can get rid of the excess water by simply placing the noodles in a colander or in a strainer and let them sit for 10 minutes, this way the sauce will be denserΒ and less liquidy.

As the only vegan at the table i always used to feel like my family was judging me, thinking that i’m a weirdo, and all that kind of stuff, but the truth is that i used to be more closed, i had prejudices about them, i was a bit hostile because that was the protective shell that i had created out of fear of being rejected and not accepted. For this reason i spent Christmas 2016 alone, as i was afraid of them judging me or making fun of me for becoming raw vegan. I acted like it actually preferred things that way, but i was feeling the estrangement from my family. This past Easter for the first time i put fear aside and i opened up about who i really am and what i found was only love and acceptance. We had a lovely time that day and the same happened yesterday. I showed them all my food pics and they seemed to really enjoy them, especially my grandma. I’m so happy to finally feel a sense of belonging to my family and of communion, because this makes me feel at peace with my roots. πŸ’˜

Being different doesn’t mean to be alienated from everyone else and we don’t have to adapt ourselves to situations we don’t like. All we have to do is to show our real selves and welcome people into our worlds. Reality and the people around us are a mere reflection of who we are. If we are closed, rancorous, and unwelcoming, we will perceive people that way. When you become open, loving, and accepting, youΒ will get acceptance and love back. πŸ’•

Start the change in yourself, that’s the only thing that you can control, and the change will manifest itself in the world.Β πŸ™πŸŒ»πŸŒ·πŸŒΉ

One thought on “Zoodles with Tomato Sauce πŸ…πŸ

Leave a Reply

